Why I Believe in Informed Consent For Parents/Guardians

Before anyone starts throwing out the term “anti-vaxxer” and then turning on their bias, here me out.  This isn’t about an “all vaccines are bad” point of view.  This is about learning and studying what ingredients are used in current vaccines and what types of vaccines are used at a certain stage in your child’s and/or your life, and making an informed decision on whether or not some, all, or none of the vaccines are right for you and your family.  This is not judging you for deciding to vaccinate or for deciding that it isn’t right for you.  Simply put, informed consent is just that, being informed about ingredients, side effects (short or long term), and giving or not giving consent for certain medical practices.

I was vaccinated when I was a child.  Obviously, it did not result in my death, and I’m a fairly healthy human being in spite of it.  What a lot of people that know me personally didn’t realize (until recently, thanks to my posts on Facebook…) was that, yes, I had side effects from those vaccinations.  Nothing life-threatening or totally life-changing, and here I count myself and my parents extremely blessed, as I know of many families that cannot say the same thing.

The side effects that landed on me were mild in comparison to others.  I had never before had a food allergy or an allergy that manifested through my skin.  After I had received the vaccinations that the doctor informed my parents were necessary at that certain stage in my life, I was suddenly, out of the blue, allergic to eggs and products that eggs were found within.  Consuming such products would result in severe cases of eczema on my face, back, arms and legs.  For those who have or have had this in the past, you know it’s a very unpleasant condition, especially for a little kid.  Half of the foods I loved I couldn’t have.  Fast-forward 20 some odd years, what used to be a severe allergy is now just a sensitivity, meaning I can partake of said product, but I still have to be careful on amount and frequency of ingestion.

Another allergy I received was to an ingredient in the vaccines called Propylene Glycol.  This ingredient can be found in a lot of daily use items, from certain flavors of cake mix and food products, to many kinds/brands of shampoos, conditioners, face care products and lotions.  I spend a lot of time looking at the ingredient labels on products in the store because of this.  It’s not just under the name of Propylene Glycol.  Anything that has “Propyl” in the description is related, and is thus that much harder to find products to use that are moderately inexpensive and will not result in a bad eczema breakout all over my body.  It’s much more irritating to deal with now as an adult than it was for me as a child.

As stated before, I just had a mild case of the side effects.  There are many more families that wish this was all that they had to have dealt with.  I just used myself as an example.  Because of my earlier food allergy, I cannot receive most of the vaccines on the market because of the use of chick embryonic fluid and the propylene in the ingredients.  For many people making the decision on whether or not they will choose to vaccinate, they don’t know if their children have certain allergies or sensitivities.  Several vaccines are given before a child reaches the age of a year old, unless you have them on a delayed schedule.

This isn’t written to scare you.  This is written because my parents didn’t know what informed consent was.  When you go to the doctor and they are wanting you to vaccinate, just ask them for the vaccine insert.  Not the print-out, the full insert.  Yes, it’s a long read, but at least you will be able to make an informed decision on what you will be allowing into your child’s system.

Leave a Reply

